My Life in the Theater: After Callbacks (Waiting)

Back from the callbacks for Jeffrey. Was planning to wait until after sleep to post about it, but as the director said he would be emailing us tomorrow about our roles, I wanted to get some of my thoughts out before I heard.

Let’s start with the good news. I’ve been told I’m definitely in the show. What I’m waiting to hear about is what part (or parts, if I’m in the ensemble) I got. This is great news in and of itself. Truly, I do love the show, and being involved in any way would be great. Plus, I really like all the people I’ve met so far. The other people in the cast and the directing staff are all great people. I think it is really going to be a fun time.

And the bad news. I don’t think I got the lead. There was a guy there tonight who was at the second set of auditions earlier. While they did have me read for Jeffrey a couple of times, they definitely had him reading much more often. And after they let us all go, they asked 5 of the people to stay behind. Three of those people were ones who really only read one part, meaning it was sure they were cast. (There was a very young guy who was the only one in the age range to play Darius, the only woman at the callbacks (and only one female part), and the really hot guy who only read for Steve (no one else read Steve either.)  So my guess is that the other two were given Sterling and Jeffrey, and they told them that there, after the rest of us left. As chorus members,  they still need to divide up the various parts between us. So they need more time for us. Yeah, I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

Right now, I’m feeling pretty depressed. As I said, I really wanted that part. But I’ll get over it. I’m sure the other guy will do a great job. Parts of his readings were fantastic. Other parts, not so much, but I’m sure the director can fix that. So I’ll wallow for a day or two, then move on. The readthrough is on Monday night, so I’m sure I’ll be done with the brooding by then.

And, yes, very much feeling the Natalie syndrome. The rest of the episode is that once Natalie tells the casting board that she wants the part of Nellie and gives a great audition, Tuttie gets talked into auditioning (she always got the lead, but had decided to sit this show out), and beats out Natalie for the role at the last minute. That’s exactly how I feel. It’s okay. It happens. It’s happened to me before, and it’ll likely happen again. But I really wanted that part. *SIGH*

This entry was posted in Theater.

Leave a Reply

